The most common questions we receive from patients are located below -- including how to obtain a Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card, renewal information and more.
- Is there a minimum age requirement to get a RI Medical Marijuana Card at B & B?
Yes. 18 years of age. However, we can assist minors if you provide us with a minimum of 1-year of medical records and a letter of recommendation from the minor’s pediatrician that MMJ is an appropriate treatment. Mandated by law, minors are also required to designate a parent or guardian as a caregiver.
- What are the qualifying conditions for Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Law states that you may be certified for medical marijuana if you meet the criteria of one of these conditions or symptoms.
- Do I need a referral to have an appointment at B & B Medical Marijuana Evaluation Center?
No, you do not need a referral. Please contact our office to set up your appointment. (401) 921-5791
- Why does B & B need my medical records?
The State of Rhode Island requires that adequate medical records document your debilitating medical condition and are reviewed by our doctors. This process assures that your medical marijuana certification will protect you from any challenge within Rhode Islands’ legal system.
- How do I get my medical records?
We can provide you with Medical Release Form(s) to obtain medical records from your doctor(s) or you can pick up your records from your doctor(s) and mail them to us. Please see FAQ #6 to download the forms. You do not need to explain why you need your records if you choose to keep this confidential. If you are having trouble obtaining your records, please contact the office and we will assist you.
The patient can fill out the release form and either scan and e-mail back to us to firstname.lastname@example.org or drop it off/mail/fax to B&B or their doctors office, whichever the patient prefers.
- Does B&B have their own Medical Release Forms?
Yes, the forms can be accessed and downloaded below, by location.
B & B Consulting Warwick Medical Release Form
B & B Consulting Pawtucket Medical Release Form
- What forms of payment does B & B accept?
We accept cash and debit/credit cards – Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express.
- Will insurance cover the cost of my appointment?
Health insurance providers are not currently covering our medical marijuana consulting services because it is still not federally recognized.
- How much does the initial appointment at B & B cost?
The cost of your initial appointment with one of our doctors is either $140 or $150, depending on when the appt is booked with B&B. We provide a $10 discount to patients who receive Supplemental Security Income, Disability Income, Veteran’s Disability, or Medicaid benefits.
- How much are follow up visits at B & B?
Follow up appointments are $50 each.
- Why do I need follow up visits?
Follow up visits are required by the RI Department of Health as outlined in their Minimum Standards.
- What happens during my initial appointment with a doctor at B & B?
One of the B & B physicians will conduct a brief exam and sign the practitioner paperwork you need to get your Rhode Island medical marijuana license. We will cover important information to help you understand how Rhode Island’s medical marijuana program works and how to find the right kind of cannabis to best meet your needs. We will also assist you in putting together your application for the Department of Health and explain the full process of obtaining your medical marijuana license.
- What if I don’t have the correct medical records for my initial visit?
Not a problem. Prior to the visit, our providers will let you know if we need more records, and what records we need. We will provide you with a Medical Release Form (FAQ #6) to sign and we will send it to the appropriate providers.
- Is my medical provider REQUIRED to release my records?
Yes. In 2004, a Federal Law was passed that requires all physicians or health care providers to provide patients with a copy of medical records within 30 days after a patient makes a formal request.
If you are having trouble obtaining your records, please contact our office and we will assist you through the process.
- What if I don’t have medical records because I do not see medical providers?
Make an appointment with a provider – whether it’s a primary care physician or a specialist to determine if you qualify. Once you have been qualified by a provider contact us for an initial appointment.
- What if I am housebound and cannot come to B & B's office?
With a written letter from the patients physician stating that the patient is housebound, one of our physicians along with a consultant will go to the patients residence to conduct the appointment at no additional cost.
- Is there any way to get my application expedited?
Patients who are eligible for Hospice care and/or patients receiving chemotherapy for the treatment of cancer, the processing of the medical marijuana license is expedited. Upon receipt of the patient application by the Dept. of Health, the patient license (and primary caregiver and authorized purchaser, if applicable) will be issued within 72 hours. Also, the Dept. of Health will not charge a fee to the patient, caregiver and authorized purchaser.
In addition, our Physician at B&B will notify the Dept. of Health in a written statement of this eligibility and a staff member will hand-deliver the application to the Dept. of Health to speed up the process even more.
- What if I cannot afford to pay the fees to B&B?
For patients who are on a fixed income and receive monthly payments from Social Security or the VA, we do offer financial assistance. Our sliding scale ranges from $90 to $140. Please contact the office and request a financial assistance application form. Patients are required to submit proof of income for the household.
- How Much Medical Marijuana Are R.I. Patients Allowed To Have in Their possession?
Two and one half (2 ½) ounces.
- How do I obtain Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Patients may obtain their medicine from a Registered Compassion Center, Caregiver or grow their own.
- How long will it take to get my Medical Marijuana Card?
Once you have submitted your application and signed practitioner paperwork to the RI Department of Health, it will go through a review process which can take anywhere between 2 and 3 weeks. If you have been accepted into the RI MMJ Program, you will be notified by letter and asked to come to the RI DOH to have your picture taken for your I.D. Card.
- How long is a license good for?
Effective January 1, 2017, one year.
- What happens at Renewal Time?
- You should receive renewal paperwork from the RI Department of Health 1-2 months prior to your card expiring.
- The next step is to contact B & B and schedule an evaluation for your card renewal. You will need to send or bring us your updated medical records (last 6-12 months) prior to the appointment.
- Our physician reviews your updated medical records to make sure your medical condition hasn’t changed and that you are still being treated by an outside physician. You are required by law to maintain an outside physician because our physicians don’t treat or diagnose your medical condition – they are responsible for signing the recommendation paperwork for the state.
- At the medical marijuana license renewal appointment, our physician will give you the signed paperwork and you then mail it back to the RI Department of Health. Please note, at renewal time, there’s no need to go to the RI Department of Health and get a new photo. The same photo will be used on the new license.